Home

happiness2

Happiness by Randy Wayne Spire.

 

Late at night

In deepest fright

I beg and plead and pray.

 

In the light

The world turns right

I look the other way.

 

One day you smiled

And took my hand

But then you ran away.

 

I screamed, I cried

And something died

But life opted to stay.

 

In dreams you came

Said “you’re still the same”

Then sang this song to me:

“Today I took

And placed on a hook,

A thing you did not need.

Don’t you cry,

You will not soon die,

You surely have been freed!”

 

One day you stopped

To grab my foot

And off you went away.

 

I railed, I raved

Was wholly depraved

But life resolved to stay.

 

In dreams you came

Said “you’re still the same”

Then sang this song to me:

“Today I took

And placed on a hook,

A thing you did not need.

Don’t you cry,

You will not soon die,

You surely have been freed!”

 

Yet late at night

Still in deepest fright

I beg and plead and pray.

 

But in the light

As the world turns right

I hope you’ll come my way.

Leave a Reply

