Home

dust

Dust to Dust by Randy Wayne Spire

The earth calls me

and reminds me

of my place.

Can you hear it?

My eyes reach heavenward

into trees and skies and stars

but they twinkle no more.

Moss covers my feet

and I find myself lost

in echoes and shadows.

Images caress me and taunt me

announcing what is and what was

but never what will be.

Inevitability lurks beyond reach

breathless and waiting

for my surrender.

I have grown cold as my resolve

to be something more

and it is here where you’ll find me.

Leave a Reply

