Home

Shadow

Fixed by Randy Wayne Spire

The light of day, it beckons

but in shadow lies my home

My mind goes out to wander

but my feet are not to roam.

I long to be with others

but the misanthrope holds sway

I long to leave the shadows

but my darker minds won’t play.

Within this cage I flicker

slowly shedding time and skin

Within this storm I falter

and relive what might have been.

The light still reaches for me

but my shadow stretches back

My hands rise as a greeting

but my will breaks with a crack.

I retreat into myself

but comfort is yet unfound

I smile and play at normal

but my mind is yet unwound.

Leave a Reply

